Bergeon

September 10, 2009 at 4:51 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

It seems these days the big supplier of watch tools is Bergeon. I keep looking at Bergeon tools, though, and reacting with a mix of shock and terror. Some things they sell are reasonable, some are absurdly expensive. The other day I was looking at their staking set. It sells for about $800. Used staking sets, many of very high quality can be had for $150 or so.

I forget exactly who made my set. It’s an inverto type, with many stakes and stumps. Most of my tools, in fact, are ebay finds. If you dig around you can easily find lots of watchmakers tools that are being sold off by an estate. These are grab bags of different tools, and as I learn more I’m slowly starting to recognize what each tool is for. I’ve been pretty happy with the purchases, and have picked up some things of very high quality.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

